U2, War

U2, War

SKU: 1761674

Ireland's premier pop/rock band, U2, burst onto the scene in the early eighties and were dominant through the early nineties! War features such U2 classics as: Sunday Bloody Sunday, New Year's Day and Two Hearts Beat As One. A piece of '80s nostalgia.

"Sunday Bloody Sunday and New Year's Day are easily two of the era's best songs... and they have never sounded better than they do here. On the whole, the album sports solid imaging and a wide deep soundstage..." - Andy Downing, The Absolute Sound, November 2008

"U2 were on the cusp of becoming one of the Eighties' most important groups when War came out. It's the band's most overtly political album, with songs about Poland's Solidarity movement ("New Year's Day") and Irish unrest ("Sunday Bloody Sunday") charged with explosive, passionate guitar rock." - www.rollingstone.com

"'New Year's Day' lifted U2 out of the rock underground for good. As he often did, Bono made up his lyrics on the spot. 'We improvise, and the things that came out, I let them come out,' he said. 'I must have been thinking about Lech Walesa being interned. Then, when we'd recorded the song, they announced that martial law would be lifted in Poland on New Year's Day. Incredible.'" - Rolling Stone

"This rallying cry set to a military beat was inspired by two Sunday massacres in the ongoing civil war between Irish Catholics and Protestants in Northern Ireland. The band changed the song’s opening line from 'Don’t talk to me about the rights of the IRA' to 'I can’t believe the news today' out of fear that its plea for peace would be misconstrued." - Rolling Stone


1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
2. Seconds
3. New Year's Day
4. Like A Song...
5. Drowning Man
6. The Refugee
7. Two Hearts Beat As One
8. Red Light
9. Surrender
10. "40"

  • Postage

    We are currently only shipping records to customers in the United Kingdom and send them via Royal Mail. Below is a breakdown of postage costs, which will be added to your order on checkout. 


    12" / LP VINYL*
    1 - 2 records - £4.50 Royal Mail First Class or £5.50 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    3 - 6 records - £6.50 Royal First Class or £9.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).
    7+ records - £9.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).

    *A double LP counts as two records, a triple LP as three records, etc.


    7" VINYL*
    1 - 3 records - £2.00 Royal Mail First Class or £3.00 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    4 - 6 records - £3.50 Royal Mail First Class or £5.00 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    7 - 12 records - £5.50 First Class or £8.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).
    12+ records - £8.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).


    *Costs of posting 7" records together with LP / 12" records are based on combined weight and will be calculated on checkout.