Metallica, Winnipeg 1986

Metallica, Winnipeg 1986


Having, by 1986, already gained a fearsome reputation for performing a fast, aggressive brand of metal known to insiders as thrash, Metallica nevertheless continued to stun audiences worldwide towards the end of that year. Following the tragic death of bassist Cliff Burton in a bus crash near Dörarp, Sweden, on September 27th, many believed the band would break up. However, with the blessing of Burton's family, Metallica soldiered on, enlisting Jason Newsted as his replacement. More impressively, the band resumed touring again just over a month after the tragedy, playing the Country Club in Reseda, California on November 8th. Although they had been forced to cancel a number of dates in the meantime, the group continued with the remainder of the Damage Inc. Tour. Playing more than 50 further shows across North America, Asia and Europe, they concluded on February 13, 1987 with a performance at the Frölundaborg in Gothenburg, just 100 miles from the crash site. Newsted's first recordings with the band would follow in August 1987, with the release of the covers record, The $5.98 E.P.: Garage Days Re-Revisited.

The show included on this LP is taken from the Canadian leg of the Damage Inc. Tour, during Newsted's first jaunt with the band. Recorded at Pantages Playhouse Theatre in Winnipeg on December 13th, and broadcast in exceptional audio quality over FM radio, this performance finds Metallica displaying as much fury and energy as ever they had, in a performance that exemplifies the band's commitment to the future.


Side A:
1. Battery
2. Master Of Puppets
3. For Whom The Bell Tolls

Side B:
4. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
5. Jason's Bass Solo
6. Whiplash
7. Fade To Black

Side C:
8. Seek And Destroy
9. Creeping Death
10. Four Horsemen

Side D:
11. Kirk's Guitar Solo
12. Am I Evil?
13. Damage Inc.
14. Fight Fire With Fire

  • Postage

    We are currently only shipping records to customers in the United Kingdom and send them via Royal Mail. Below is a breakdown of postage costs, which will be added to your order on checkout. 


    12" / LP VINYL*
    1 - 2 records - £4.50 Royal Mail First Class or £5.50 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    3 - 6 records - £6.50 Royal First Class or £9.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).
    7+ records - £9.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).

    *A double LP counts as two records, a triple LP as three records, etc.


    7" VINYL*
    1 - 3 records - £2.00 Royal Mail First Class or £3.00 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    4 - 6 records - £3.50 Royal Mail First Class or £5.00 Royal Mail Signed For (First Class). 
    7 - 12 records - £5.50 First Class or £8.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).
    12+ records - £8.00 Parcel Force 24 (trackable and signed for).


    *Costs of posting 7" records together with LP / 12" records are based on combined weight and will be calculated on checkout.  



Red Star 13 (Unit 13) Shoppers World,  18 Wind Street, Ammanford,  Carmarthenshire. SA18 3DN

Email : ... Telephone / Text : 07548 262 092 

© 2019 - 2020 Red Star 13 (RS13:UK). All Rights Reserved.